Muffins and Maternity Leave

Summer has finally arrived in Southern Ontario. Just so happened that it came the exact week our Vitamin D supplement ran out. It may be the Dutch in me, but I get excited about my daily dose of free vitamin D. It really has been wonderful to have the warm sun around and we’ve been spending most of our time outdoors, so it doesn’t get much better.

I’m blessed to be on Maternity leave this year (Yes, in Canada you get a full 12 months!) which is allowing me to explore the slow and simple life much more these days. I’m not one to typically enjoy slow. I’m usually irritated by slow and much prefer the hustle of working and working efficiently- whether at home or at work. But I’m learning the importance of “stop[ping] to smell the roses”, so to speak. Having a toddler and a baby is a great help in this as not much can be done quickly these days anyway. But I’m seeing real fruit in my life through it- including being a better, and happier, mom and wife- which is showing results in the whole family.

Part of my journey in slowing down means saying “no” to non-priorities… like blog posts. Thus, it has been a little while since my last post. But alas, I have a muffin recipe that I made this morning with my little muffin while my littler muffin napped. He loves being my helper whenever it comes to making anything in the kitchen, and I love seeing his joy and excitement in doing things with me. Another part of slowing down means getting to enjoy the little moments with my little people.

This is the exact recipe that I followed, however, you can alter if you want more of something, less of another etc. We’ve been trying to reduce our sugar intake so I only did ¼ cup but some might like it sweeter (I actually found it too sweet with ¼c). I usually try a recipe out as is and then alter it the second time to fit it to our taste buds.  I think that’s what recipes are for. They provide a template that enables you to explore and experiment with ingredients and flavours.

Til next time, happy experimenting.

*IMG_20170616_104703

***This picture is terrible because it is from my phone.


Oatmeal Cinnamon Muffins (GF and Vegan)

  • 1 1/3 cup gluten free all purpose flour
  • ¾ cup gluten free quick oats
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar of choice (coconut, sucanat, cane, etc)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 2 TBSP ground flax mixed with 4 TBSP water
  • ¾ cup milk of choice (I used coconut milk)
  • ¼ cup oil or applesauce (I used coconut oil)
  1. Mix wet ingredients.
  2. Mix dry ingredients.
  3. Combine wet and dry ingredients and mix until just combined (don’t want to over stir or the muffins will turn out crumbly).
  4. Scoop into greased muffin tin (or line with muffin cups) to fill each cup about halfway.
  5. Bake in preheated oven set at 400C degrees for 20 minutes then allow to cool on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

